#### **OFFICERS 2014-2016**

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

# BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON\* Fremont City Clerk \* non-voting member

#### **ADVISORY COUNCIL:**

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County

#### **ELECTED AREA CHAIRS**:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

# LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

#### **COUNTY CLERK:**

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

### ELECTIONS:

Kern County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County KAREN RHEA



# CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

## **NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT**

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 \* Fax 714-567-7627

> E-Mail: <a href="mailto:neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com">neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com</a> CACEO website: <a href="mailto:www.caceo58.org">www.caceo58.org</a>

June 26, 2015

The Honorable Sebastian Ridley-Thomas Chairman, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting State Capitol, Room 2176 Sacramento, CA 95814

## SB 417 (STONE) -SUPPORT IF AMENDED

Dear Assembly Member Ridley-Thomas:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials wishes to advise you that it supports SB 417 if the geographic limitation is removed. Currently, the bill limits the ability to return ballots from polling locations for tabulation mid-day on Election Day to counties of a size greater than 2,500 square miles. We know that the distances in California's largest geographic counties such as Riverside and San Bernardino are great and this bill would facilitate counting and reporting election results in these counties. However, there are other populous counties, such as Santa Clara, which would also benefit from the provisions of this bill but do not meet the geographic limitations.

The Association asks that this limitation be removed by striking paragraph (2) in its entirety so the bill can be supported without reservation.

Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Scott O. Konopasek

Corresponding Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Senator Ben Allen, Chair, Senate Elections and Constitutional Amendments Committee Senator Stone, Author

Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting

Daryl Thomas, Republican Caucus Consultant

Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee

Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee